Cover of: The Narnian | Alan Jacobs Read Online

The Narnian The Life and Imagination of C. S. Lewis by Alan Jacobs

  • 334 Want to read
  • ·
  • 64 Currently reading

Published by HarperOne .
Written in English


  • Biography And Autobiography,
  • Lewis, C. S. (Clive Staples), 1898-1963,
  • Biography & Autobiography,
  • Biography / Autobiography,
  • Biography/Autobiography,
  • Literary,
  • Biography & Autobiography / General,
  • 20th century,
  • Authors, English,
  • Biography,
  • Christian literature, English,
  • Christianity and literature,
  • England,
  • History,
  • History and criticism

Book details:

The Physical Object
Number of Pages368
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL9237986M
ISBN 100060872691
ISBN 109780060872694

Download The Narnian


The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of children’s fantasy novels by Irish author C.S. Lewis. The series has sold over million copies in 47 different languages. The series is set in a magical place called Narnia, a fictional realm where animals talk and good battles evil. Oct 02,  · The Chronicles of Narnia is a nice series of books, which is great for children and entertaining for adults. However, one thing that bothers me personally is the religious references. In most of the parts these are relatively subtle and don't mind them so much. But the last part, The Last Battle, was too much for me/5(). Dec 06,  · An impressive hardcover volume containing all seven books in the classic fantasy series The Chronicles of Narnia, graced by black-and-white chapter opening illustrations and featuring an essay by C. S. Lewis on writing. This volume also contains C. /5(). Listen to The Chronicles of Narnia performed by the most celebrated actors of our time. NARNIA COLLECTIONS & BOXSETS. Bring home the complete Chronicles of Narnia as a keepsake collection or box set. NARNIA GIFT & COMPANION EDITIONS. Keep exploring Narnia with cookbooks, read-aloud editions, quotation collections, and more.

Somewhat discontiguous in its approach, Prince Capsian: The return to Narnia, the second book, presented a fresh perspective to the series, somewhat breaking with the base created in the first book, allowing the story to hurtle forward into a new world, one of blood and betrayal, of new kings and family feuds, pitting the Pevensies against the tyrannical Miraz, brother to the previous king and sworn to . The Chronicles of Narnia series of films is based on The Chronicles of Narnia, a series of novels by C. S. Lewis. From the seven books, three were adapted —The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Prince Caspian and The Voyage of the Dawn Treader —which grossed over $ billion worldwide, but suffered a gradually declining critical and commercial reception with each film. The series revolves around the Produced by: Mark Johnson (1–3), Philip Steuer . The Chronicles of Narnia series was written by C.S. Lewis in the s, when he was a high-powered Oxford professor and perhaps the 20th Century’s most famous convert to Christianity. An atheist from boyhood, he converted at age 33 to Christianity and devoted much of . The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of seven fantasy books for children written by Clive Staples Lewis. Which describes the adventures of children in a magical land called Narnia, where animals can talk, magic is no surprise and the good fights versus evil.

In an American boy wrote C. S. Lewis to ask about the best order for reading The Chronicles of Narnia. The boy's mother believed the books should be read in order of their publication, beginning with The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. But the boy thought it would be better to read them in order of Narnian history, beginning with the creation of the enchanted world in The Magician's Nephew. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, often shortened to LWW, was written by C. S. Lewis and published in It records the adventure of four ordinary English children - Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensie - who found their way into the magical land of Narnia by way of a wardrobe that. Reading the books as they were first published tells the best story of Narnia, particularly beginning with  The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. Wardrobe  gives such a magical introduction to Narnia, the world and her people, and a mysterious and alluring introduction to Aslan. Aug 04,  · The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis is an epic fantasy series consisting of 7 books, first released between and The series has been a huge success and has attracted, especially, children and young adult readers from multiple generations. It is now considered one of the best fantasy series and a classic literary work.